Woolf Works’ Member Spotlight: Aimee Barnes

Aimee Barnes

Aimee is a Lite-Time member of Woolf Works. She is a big inspiration to us through both the awesome content she creates for Tangram Fitness and through the Woolf Works’ events she has had a hand – sharing her journey in a moving speech at a Woolf Works Wednesday social night and the sell-out Vision Board workshops she hosts in the space.

The next inspiring and powerful Vision board workshop  for 2015 is on Saturday 24th January in the afternoon – more details and tickets available here. Don’t miss out!

What’s your business?
I’m an Integrative Health Coach and Personal Trainer, focusing on behavior modification and habit change. I began making a career shift to this field three years ago; previously I worked as a writer and researcher in development and public health.

What ignited the spark in you to start on this venture?
I went through a transformation in 2009, regaining control of my physical and mental health by applying habit change and recovery techniques to my own life, and by adopting a consistent fitness program. This led me to eventually become an athlete and through the journey, I became very interested in how exercise and other wellness tools could be used as therapies for healing from physical illness, depression, addiction and other major life changes. Movement has incredible power. The less we move, the more we seem to suffer.

Describe your typical working day
I’m usually up by 5am and out of the house by 6am to begin my first training session. I try to start the day with meditation and prayer. I conduct personal training from 6am-1pm Monday through Saturday, traveling between East Coast and Botanic Gardens. Then, I squeeze in my time at the gym; I’m a competitive physique athlete, so I spend around 6 hours a week lifting weights- more during on-season. In the afternoons and evenings I conduct health coaching – I have clients in Singapore and the US, and most of the sessions are held over Skype. I work on emails, blog posts and articles whenever I can fit it in. Right now I’m also developing a program and book and working on my certification as an addiction recovery coach, so that’s where Woolf Works comes in.

What would be the three top skills needed to be successful in your field?
1. Empathy
2. Motivational skills to inspire positive change
3. Strong communication skills

What motivates you?
My clients motivate me, as I have the opportunity to witness their own transformations, which in a sense keeps me on track as well! I’ve learned to become very self-motivated, but it certainly wasn’t always that way. I never want to slide back to where I was- mired in depression, reliant on pills and booze, without hope. That is hell on earth. So, I know what I have to do to stay healthy, and I do it.

How do you maintain a healthy life-work balance?
Ha! I’m not sure if I do these days, but I love my work. As I mentioned, I carve out time for meditation and prayer, which helps me stay balanced overall, and I’m not tied to my email inbox or phone- it’s not too hard for me to set them aside. I take a fair number of vacations with my husband- we love exploring new countries- and that makes up for the long hours.

Where did you work most often before you discovered coworking?
I’m often working outside or in a gym, but for computer-related work and writing, I used to spend a lot of time at my kitchen table.

What do you love about being a member at Woolf Works and how has it helped you in your business?
I’ve noticed that I tend to get a lot more done when I’m sitting at Woolf Works as compared to when I’m at my kitchen table. There are few distractions and yet, if I need a break, good conversation and coffee are always available. I love the events held at Woolf Works, from seminars for entrepreneurs and creatives, to Woolf Works Wednesdays. Being a member at Woolf Works also facilitates the development of meaningful professional relationships, and I’ve had the good fortune of leading a few events at the space as well, including my Vision Board workshops.

How can people connect with you?

Aimee_TANGRAM FITNESSEmail: aimee@tangramfitness.com

Website: http://tangramfitness.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/tangramfitness

LinkedIn: sg.linkedin.com/in/aimeebarnes

 

Woolf Works is a women-only work space located in a renovated shophouse on Joo Chiat Rd. Our community includes writers, entrepreneurs, photographers and consultants. Come for a visit and see for yourself! To find out more about membership at our space please click here. You can also check our website and get in touch at info@woolfworks.sg.

Leave a Reply

