Set Yourself Up for a Rocking 2015

At the beginning of 2014 I was at a point of real indecision in my life. My second child had crossed six months old and I had been a stay at home mum for over five years. I was feeling ready to launch myself into something exciting and involving but wasn’t sure if I had the courage. I was also quite unfit and generally felt exhausted by the end of a day with my kids so couldn’t imagine being able to work as well. I also felt aimless, adrift, with lots of ideas but no concrete plan.

When I lived in Mumbai I learnt a fantastic word that it used to describe ripping up the tar seal roads and laying concrete ones. Its is called concretisation. I love this – and it feels like just the right word to describe what I needed and what I actually ended up doing with my goals.

I sat down. I wrote them out. I thought about which path spoke to my true heart. I thought about what I would regret in ten years, what could be shelved for a while and what couldn’t wait.

I concretised my goals.

I decided that getting fit was a great first step. I’d never been a runner (and I really mean never!) but I decided that my 2014 goal would be to run 10km and to lose 10kg. I knew that feeling good about myself would help all other aspects of my life.

I had met my fantastic personal trainer Aimee Barnes in December 2013 and it didn’t take much time working with her and really watching my nutrition before I started to feel more positive about myself and have more energy to get out in the world and do something. The concept of Woolf Works had been there in my mind (and in dusty excel sheets) for a while but by February I made a commitment to throw myself into it fulltime 9-5pm.

In July 2014 Woolf Works was opened and today we have a growing, thriving community.

My success this year is due to a lot of factors – things that I had to work at, things and people that came to me through being open and looking for opportunity but mostly from

  1. Being physically fit.
  2. Having concrete goals and a clear vision of where I wanted this year to go.

In essence – its about creating a map and making sure the vehicle was strong enough to get me there!

So, now we are heading into 2015. I have a lot of great plans and ideas for Woolf Works, for myself and for my family.

In order to get some more ‘concretisation’ on these plans, I’m going to be joining Aimee on a fantastic workshop she is offering at Woolf Works in a few weeks:

 

Creating Your Vision for 2015

 

This three hour workshop will help you concretize your goals and create a vision board – a collage of images and words that represent your aspirations. Aimee will guide you through and inspire you with her transformational journey.

The workshop will take place on Saturday, 6th December from 10am – 1pm. Tickets are available at the link above and places are limited.

See you there!

 

Vision-Board2

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

